Tags

, , , ,

lucky no14

I can’t believe that it’s already the third month of 2014. I felt like I haven’t done anything worthy my time, so many things to do but I can’t quite catch up with everything. I even haven’t read all the February reviews in Lucky No.14 linkies 😀

Anyway, I hope your February went well, many great books and memorable bookish moments passing your way. In February, the participants of Lucky No. 14 Challenge was still rising to 136 people. Wow.

And the number of reviews so far? Until I write this post, there are 300 reviews in 14 categories. The number is almost double up from last month! This is so impressive, and I guess everyone is doing really well with their challenge 🙂

So I checked on some interesting reviews and these are the highlights:

Visit a Country: Melbourne, Rewind (Winna Efendi), posted by Alfindy Agyputri (Occultatalentum)

Latar yang digunakan, sangat menarik dan jarang diangkat. Melbourne, salah satu kota di Australia yang jarang dimasukkan dalam destinasi travelling (menurutku, sih, karna seringan Sydney, kan), tapi justru itu yang membuatnya menarik. Kak Winna menjamah setiap sudut kota Melbourne, memperkenalkan kota yang tak kalah indahnya ini pada para pembaca. Pendeskripsian dan research yang luar biasa, membuatku merasa seperti sedang berada di sana. Bahkan, jadi pengen pergi ke sana juga.

Chunky Brick: Name of The Wind (Patrick Rothfuss), posted by Kari (know-it-not-so-much)

This book is what one might also describe as a brick.  The paperback that was lent to me is a cool 722.  It’s no The Game of Thrones, but it’s pretty long nonetheless.  It was recommended to me by a friend and has been sitting on my shelf for many, many months.  It took me awhile to get into the book at all.  I’m not a big fantasy reader, especially not these sort of epic high fantasy books (I just learned what the term high fantasy means!) so I was a little lost until I found the rhythm.  Then the pages seemed to fly by until I got to the last 20-30 pages.  Then it sort of slowed down.

Also called The Name of the Wind: Day One, the book is Kvothe’s telling of the story of his life to the Chronicler while they are sitting in his deserted inn.  He takes us from his childhood days all the way through his teens.  I think by the time he takes a break for the day he is about 17 or 18 years old.

Favorite Author: Sycamore Row (John Grisham), posted by Sarah (The ChicReader)

sycamore rowI used to love John Grisham and for me, one of his best book is A Time To Kill. Knowing that the main character in this book is the same with A Time To Kill, I’m really anxious to read this book. All of the characters rerun from the first book. Jake Brigance a lawyer who at times seems to be in way over his head. Lucien his his alcoholic landlord and somewhat mentor. His pal and fellow lawyer Harry Rex, and Ozzie the sheriff of Ford county.

Too bad, Sycamore Row is not a great followup to A Time To Kill. The beginning is good but it gets bored in the middle. I continue reading because I HAD to know who won the settlement. It is decent but way too long. Many sections of the book drag and the payoff is entirely predictable. As a sequel of sorts to A Time to Kill it is nothing special. Not too much In the way of excitement and the plot unfortunately fails to truly engage. For me, it is truly a forgettable read. Sorry, Grisham, this is not your best book.

It’s Been There Forever: One Day (David Nicholls), posted by Hanna (Booking in Heels)

One Day has been on my TBR since Spring 2011 – that’s almost three years, people. Numerous people have told me that it’s a literary masterpiece, it’s featured on almost every TBR list I’ve ever written and it was made into a film that actually looks pretty good.  Now I have actually read it and it is a literary masterpiece. So there.

Freebies Time: Under The Jeweled Sky (Alisan McQueen), posted by Yuska (Lust and Coffee)

I received a copy from the publisher via Netgalley.

Under the Jewelled Sky by Alison McQueen is a beautiful novel about India, where the country is one of the integral characters. Set at the time of Partition and a decade or so later, the author brought us back to the mid 1900s, when the British was about to leave.

Besides telling about vibrant India , the author was successfully portray a realistic character through Sophie. Her father is a physiscian at the palace. She builds a friendship with Jag (one of my favorite characters as well), the son of a servant. In that era, such relationship was kind of forbidden.

Walking Down The Memory Lane: STOP, Panik di Sirkus Sarani (Stefan Wolf), posted by Opat (Bukufamufamu)

Setelah bertahun-tahun, saya baru baca serial STOP ini lagi dan saya senang sekali. Waktu kecil dulu, buku-buku tulisan R.L.Stine atau Enid Blyton saya pinjam dari perpustakaan (Yes! I am proud I was such a book geek!) tapi satu hari Ibu saya membelikan saya STOP, dan saya langsung jatuh cinta pada serial ini. Sudah besar gini, akhirnya saya kesampain beli beberapa buku STOP lainnya, tapi mungkin bacanya nanti saja :D

panik di sirkus

I wish you the best for March – prepare for a warmer weather and some good spring books to come 🙂

Cheers and see you next month!