Tags

, , , , , ,

Everytime I visit Singapore, I’ve got a bookshop hangover. I’ve always loved bookstores in Singapore. I used to love Borders in Wheelock Place so much, I’ve hung out there until the store closed. And it broke my heart so bad when Borders were closing down 😦

Anyway, post-Borders, I only knew Kinokuniya in Nge Ann City, and Bras Basah the second hand bookshop complex. But last week, when I visited Singapore, my sister told me that there’s a cool indie bookstore in Tiong Bahru area that we really have to visit.

So, on a Sunday morning, after having a delicious breakfast in Tiong Bahru Bakery (this is another recommended place!!), we walked a little bit to this store called BooksActually. It’s located on a small alley in an old district where the houses and apartments are designed in an old school style, and there are lots of other indie and eclectic stores, such as furniture boutiques, cute cafes and kids related shops.

Cool facade.

Cool facade.

From the front, BooksActually looks really cool, with the combination of large modern windows, classy board sign and a pile of old logs. Entering the store, I can smell a lovely smell of books, wood, and old papers. The store is light and airy, with rows and rows of cover lust books and other knick knacks. There are even a couple of high shelves behind the cashier that have lots of small antique things. inside2inside3

The books in this store are not usually new, best seller books. If you want to find that kind of books, you can easily go to Kinokuniya or other big stores. Here, you can find books in special or rare editions, and books with wonderful covers.

Delicious covers!

Delicious covers!

I literally drool over the Penguin notebooks, but decided not to buy them since I am in a short budget 🙂 Instead, I bought some postcards and thinner handmade notebooks.

Those Penguin notebooks!

Those Penguin notebooks!

At the back of the room, there is this special space for “gift ideas”, and oh boy, I want all of them for myself 🙂 There are old records and tapes, mugs with different designs, from the antique ones to the cool hype ones. Trinkets that can make a collector smile widely. Even a Moby Dick tote bag that almost makes me lose myself 😀

Someday am gonna buy that tote bag.

Someday am gonna buy that tote bag.

Places like BooksActually is one of the reasons why I love reading printed books. I can’t imagine if one gloomy day, this kind of bookstores are actually gone, replaced by cold, white rooms with rows and rows of computers where you can download your e-books *shudder*

I know there are lots and lots of places like BooksActually, hidden among our hectic, inhuman world. Let’s try to find more of them. Let’s support small, independent bookstores that became the reason why you love books and reading so much.

BooksActually

9 Yong Siak St

Singapore 168645

+65 6222 9195

booksactually.com

depan1‎

