Tags

, , ,

book-kaleidoscope-2013-button

This year has been a wonderful one in terms of my bookish life. So many great books, lots of wishlist fulfillment, and of course, higher TBR piles ;p But luckily, I had read some of the best from my TBR pile and here are my five most favorite ones:

5. Imperium and Conspirata (Robert Harris)

imperium

This series is one of the best of historical fictions. Robert Harris can capture the life of Cicero, the famous Rome politician and philosopher, into these incredible and engaging books. The thrills, the politics, the chaos, are the complete elements to make this series into my favorite list. And I just can’t wait for the third book to come out!

4. Darth Vader and Son (Jeffrey Brown)

Darth-Vader-and-Son

Hilarious, charming and adorable, Darth Vader and Son is one of the reasons why every adult has to read children books once in a while. As a Star Wars fan, I admit I fell in love with this book since the first page. Imagining Darth Vader as a father for Luke is totally awesome. And I am glad to know that the sequel featuring Princess Leia is already out😀

3. And The Mountains Echoed (Khaled Hosseini)

mountains echoed

I’ve never missed Khaled Hosseini’s books for anything in the world. And The Mountains Echoed is a softer voice of Hosseini, still as strong as his previous works but with a less pretentious tone, more personal and dramatic without being too melancholy. I love the subplots, every story compliments each other and forms a clear, beautiful picture in the end.

2. The Cuckoo’s Calling (Robert Galbraith)

cuckoos

When the news leaked that JK Rowling published a book under a pseudonym, I was ecstatic. But I also didn’t hope that I would love the book just like I love Harry Potters. Turned out, I like The Cuckoo’s Calling so much! It’s full of drama, adventures, great characters and vivid details of London setting. I just can’t wait for the sequel of Cormoran Strike’s adventures. We need more!!!!

1. Night Film (Marisha Pessl)

intense cover!

This is a no surprise I guess, if you’ve read my review of this book. Marisha Pessl is one of the few authors who hasn’t disappointed me so far. Her writing is extraordinary, the plot is amazing and mind blowing, the characters are crazy (in a good way of course!) and the ending is indescribable. Please pretty please write more something like this, Marisha🙂

So how about your list? What’s your most favorite reads this year? Do join the event, hosted by Fanda here. Have a great end of 2013 everyone🙂 See you next year!