Tags

, ,

2014Continuing the tradition of this blog for the past two years, I’m going to write a short highlights of 2013 – from a bookish perspective, of course. This year I started to make a reading schedule, although of course there were times when rebelled from my own schedule :p

I think the best thing of having a schedule is that I’ve been motivated to read fast to keep into my schedule (and read more books than the previous year). But the low side of it was, sometimes I feel everything is too predictable, I missed the sparks and element of surprise from choosing my books randomly.

Anyway, here are some great (and not so great) moments of the year:

Most I didn’t expect that much from this book due to some bad reviews but turned out I actually liked it: The Casual Vacancy (JK Rowling).
Honorable mention: Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter (Seth Grahame-Smith)

Most “I really want to like this book, but I JUST CAN’T”: Me Before You (Jojo Moyes). Honorable mention: The Thief (Megan Whalen Turner)

Best rereading moments of the year: Harry Potter Series (Best event of the year: Hotter Potter, yeay!)

Most “I won’t read the sequel, ever!!!!”: A Discovery of Witches (Deborah Harkness)

Best Quirky Title: Al Capone Does My Shirt (Gennifer Choldenko). Honorable mention: Skippy Dies (Paul Murray)

Most unbelievable crazy, twisted ending you just have to scream out loud: Gone Girl (Gillian Flynn). Honorable mention: Night Film (Marisha Pessl)

Most annoying characters you just want to punch them: Juliet (from Juliet by Anne Fortier), Daisy Buchanan (from The Great Gatsby by Scott Fitzgerald), Ernest Hemingway (from The Paris Wife by Paula McLain)

Most “do judge a book by its cover!!!”: The Homecoming of Samuel Lake (Jenny Wingfield)

Most anticipated sequel: Imperium series (Robert Harris)

Best bookish moments: breaking my own record, reading more than 100 books this year … Met with BBIers in IRF event …. hosting lots of Giveaways in this blog πŸ™‚

So I hope you had a wonderful 2013 and I wish you for the more glittery 2014. May your stack of books getting lower and your spirit of reading getting higher.

Happy new year folks!

