Tags

, , ,

Title: Midnight’s Children

Writer:Salman Rushdie

Publisher: Random House (Alfred A.Knopf)

Pages: 589 p

On my shelf since: 2006

This is probably one of the hardest book I’ve ever read. Not only the story is long and complicated, involving Indian politics in a century, but the language itself is very literature style.

The story revolves around the life of Saleem Sinai, who was born in midnight time, right on the Independence Day of India. He is one of the thousand and one children born in that day, and with his special gift, he dreams to make India a better place. Somehow, his journey is always intersecting with the country’s journey: he called it destiny.

This is an epic story, told from Saleem’s point of view. Sometimes, Saleem jumps into the future, giving us the glimpse of what to happen, and leaving us some mysteries to be solved. It is quite engaging, although a bit tiring for couple of times.

I fell in love with Salman Rushdie after reading his children book, Haroon and The Sea of Stories. I tried to read several of his adult books, but so far nothing really gives me the same impression as the first book I read.

This book has been in my shelf since 4 years ago, and I read this as a part of Twenty Ten Challenge, for TBR category.