Tags

, ,

Title: Metropolis

Writer: Windry Ramadhina

Publisher: Grasindo (2009)

Pages: 331 p

Bought at:Gramedia Grand Indonesia (Rp 54900)

I rarely read Indonesian books. To be honest, it’s really hard to find anything that could satisfy my taste. Some books are too corny, some are too vulgar, some just too boring, and some are the good examples of plagiarism. But I’m sure, there are great Indonesian books, somehwere out there. Not too serious, but not too corny either. So, to raise my appetite for Indonesian books, I chose to read more Indonesian books, and included it in my Twenty Ten Challenge.

I don’t know why I chose Metropolis as my read. I never heard of the author, and the cover was not that interesting for me. But I remembered that I read the review somewhere, and the review was good. The criminal theme is quite unique for Indonesian book, and the thriller genre is one of my favorites, so I decided to just go for it.

Surprisingly, the book is quite good. The story reminded me a lot of Hollywood movies, with lots of suspense, good cop and bad cop, juicy plot and twist ending. It’s not very original, but it came beyond my expectation, so it’s enough for me.

The story is about drug dealers and maffia conspiracy in Jakarta. It’s funny how you never really thought about maffia in Indonesia, although of course this thing is really exist here. Each maffia gank has its own leader, and their leaders were killed one by one. Bram, the good cop and hero in this book, tried so hard to solve the case, helped by his assistant, Erik (who is a girl, strangely).They met several mysterious characters, like Aretha the businesswoman, Miaa the ex-cop, Blur the mysterious masffia leader, and Indira the beautiful lady.

The plus point of the book? The author could make the story quite convincing (despite the strange choice of names, like Gilli, Miaa (yup, with double A!), or Saada). And the minus point? Too many angles, too many different point of view, and less mysterious plot.

Anyway, this was a nice experience, indeed. And makes me want to find another Indonesian’s treasure.

*I read this book as a part of Twenty Ten Challenge for Win!Win! category. (almost half way to go!)