Tags

, , ,

Title: Her Fearful Symmetry

Writer: Audrey Niffenegger

Publisher: Jonathan Cape (2009)

Pages: 390 p

Bought at:Time News Link, Changi Airport (SGD 28,92)

I love Audrey Niffenegger’s first best seller novel, The Time Traveler’s Wife. It was original, moving, and written in the neat way. One of the great books (my version, at least).

So it’s not a sin to have a great expectation when I learned that Audrey wrote another novel. I became very curious while reading the synopsis in Amazon. It’s a ghost story! Imagine how a brilliant writer will make her ghost story an original one, and I became more excited.

Unfortunately, you can’t put your hope too high. It will ended in dissapointment. And to tell you the truth, I was in that kind of situation when finished this book.

The beginning of the story was quite promising. Julia and Valentina Poole are twin sisters from Chicago. Both are attractive in their unique way, smart even though didn’t have any plan for their future, and excited when they received the news that they were inherited an apartment in London from their deceased aunt (whom they never knew!).

So begin their adventure in London. I like the setting of the apartment, which is located near the Highgate Cemetery and gave the book a gothic feel. I also like the character of the neighbors, especially Martin the OCD crossword setter. But the other characters are bland, even unreal, including the weird twins. I think Niffenegger were really exaggerating the twins theme here, making their relationships as dramatic as it could be.

The plot itself was quite mysterious (at least, in the beginning). Why was the aunt and the mother’s twins didn’t speak for so long? What’s the dark secret that makes Elspeth (the aunt) wandering as a ghost in the apartment?

Unfortunately, the answers of all the questions we had in our mind were not really satisfying (as well as the ending!). I am really sad to admit that I don’t like this book, despite the greatness of its writer. But I’m not giving up! Like so many gifted authors, I’m sure Niffenegger will find her next “it” book.

I read this book as a part of my Twenty Ten Reading Challenge for the New and Shiny category. So it makes 13 more books to go! *grin*

*I’m soooo slowwwwww*